Estonian National Museum received The Kenneth Hudson Award!

The European Museum of the Year Award (EMYA), organised by the European Museum Forum (EMF), was presented on 12 May, at the 2018 Award Ceremony held in Warsaw, Poland, in collaboration with National Institute for Museums and Public Collections, POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews. EMYA 2018 event is a part of the Niepodlegla Programme 2017-2021, which is produced with financial support from the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of Poland.

A number of other awards were presented to museums to recognise particular achievements

The European Museum of the Year Award and the Council of Europe Museum Prize, are the longest running and most prestigious awards in Europe.
EMF/EMYA is dedicated to promoting excellence in innovation and public quality in museum practice, encouraging networking and exchange of ideas and sustainable best practices within the sector. EMF/EMYA works within an overall framework of a commitment to citizenship, democracy and human rights, to bridging cultures and social and political borders, and to sustainability.

The results of the 2018 Awards are as follows:

The European Museum of the Year Award 2018 goes to DESIGN MUSEUM, London, United Kingdom.
The museum received the EMYA trophy, The Egg by Henry Moore, which it will keep for one year.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe decided to give its Museum Prize 2018 to the WAR CHILDHOOD MUSEUM in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The Silletto Prize recognises excellence in working with the local community and involving volunteers.

The Kenneth Hudson Award is given in recognition of the most unusual and daring achievement that challenges common perceptions of the role of museums in society.
It goes to ESTONIAN NATIONAL MUSEUM, Tartu, Estonia.

This museum provides a thoughtful exploration of what belonging to a place means, so that it collects, preserves and interprets memories of the past in ways which make the museum an inclusive, creative learning environment for all.
This museum considers and deals with complex and controversial histories and views its main responsibility as collecting and preserving memory to create a new vision of cultural dialogue which links past with future.
By taking a dialogic multi-vocal, participatory approach to the history of everyday life, the museum reinvents the traditional concept of a national museum.

Special Commendations
The following museums have received Special Commendations from EMYA 2018 Judging Panel:

Special Commendation for Sustainability
Vapriikki Museum Centre, Tampere, Finland

Lascaux IV- International Centre For Cave Art, Dordogne, France

Helsinki City Museum, Helsinki, Finland

Rainis and Aspazija’s Museum, Riga, Jurmala and Dunava, Latvia

Museo dell’ Opera del Duomo, Florence, Italy

Museum University Of Navarra, Pamplona, Spain

Museo Egizio, Turin, Italy